mskoheeallee

Just another WordPress.com site

Where do you live?

2 Comments

It’s my first knitting circle. Everyone is very friendly. So friendly, in fact, that no one points out to me that the sock I am knitting is quite clearly enormous and completely unfit for purpose.

Knitter #1: So where do you live?

This is the question I have been dreading. Brooklynites get pretty territorial about neighborhoods and where we live seems to be at the junction of three different ones. I attempt to dodge the bullet and give them the street address.

Knitter #1: So which neighbourhood is that?

Knitter #2: It’s Park Slope.

Me: Um, there aren’t really many nannies with prams where I am, so I don’t think…

Knitter #3: Ah – it’s South Slope.

Me: Uh, well, I’m not really sure. I think it might be Gowanus?

Knitter #1: When I moved here in ’73, Gowanus didn’t exist!

Knitter #2: Neither did South Slope.

Knitter #4: Is it maybe Windsor Terrace?

Knitter #1: No! That stops at Prospect Park West.

So that clears that one up then.

2 thoughts on “Where do you live?

  1. Socks are hard. Specially sock #2. That is, if you want a pair, and not just two odd socks.

  2. Tell me about it! I’ve got a pair finished now, but that particular sock is destined to be forever without a partner as I have definitely run out of yarn.

Leave a Reply

